QOTD: Simple Happiness

“Write it on your heart that everyday is the best day in the year.”

– Ralph Waldo Emerson

In our world of social media, it seems we are flooded with endless positivity and success. I swear everyone I follow on Instagram went to Disneyland last month. And Hawaii. And the Mediterranean. And the list of places could go on.

Meanwhile, I’ve sat here in Omaha, dreaming about all the cool places I’d love to travel to, or rather would love to just photograph.

I see my friends buying houses, growing their families, celebrating anniversaries, and blah, blah, blah.

It’s great, really, to see my friends and family happy and able to do so much. At the same time it’s so easy to get down thinking you aren’t doing enough or gaining enough.


Being active on social media can be very destructive if you don’t remember to look at the reality of life. Many of my friends have planned for these things for months or even years. Many work like crazy and a lot of the people I follow are working while they do all these crazy fun things. Everyone started somewhere and then they had to work.

We all have to start somewhere and build into our perfect lives. Someone like me, who has spent most of my life finding excuses not to do things that scare,  doesn’t have a reason to blame anyone for my lack of success and fun. I did that. I held back and I didn’t plan.

And eventually, I need to just let that go and start now. So, yes, we need to change what we are doing and make each and every day the best that it can be and look at each day as the best day ever. Learning to have appreciation for the little victories and trying everyday to progress is essential to our happiness.

I know we all know this and I know that it’s easier said then done, but really what do we expect to happen if we just keep doing the same damn thing every day.

Social media is great, but it is such a limiting view sometimes. We think, “oh, I have 400 friends, and they all have great things happening! Why not me?” But seriously that just isn’t true. Maybe the 30 or so friends who share have awesome things going on, but what about the other 370? Some are working three jobs and raising kids, some are knee-deep in building a career at a “9 to 5,” some are jumping from job to job trying to make ends meet, and some are just really not doing anything at all. But we don’t see them, they are the silent majority.

Most of them are happy also. Simply happy.

Let yourself also be happy with what you have and where you are. And then push forward and make plans, set goals, and work hard to achieve them. In the end, we are just trying to survive.

Leave a Reply

