QOTD: Perspective

“It was only a sunny smile, and little it cost in the giving, but like morning light it scattered the night and made the day worth living.”

– F. Scott Fitzgerald

As someone who has not read much, F. Scott Fitzgerald, is one of my favorites. Doing a quick search on the source of this quote, I am faced with a little dilemma. There seems to be several locations as to the origin of the quote and even the possibility that this wording isn’t correct. Nevertheless, it gives me the feels and it worth the time to ponder.

When I first read this, I immediately was drawn to think of a woman, perhaps who I ran into while exiting a building. The sun shone behind her as she turned to acknowledge me and I thanked her for the kind gesture of holding the door for me. As bright as the sun was, the smile, the genuine kindness and intent of such, would stun me. Forcing within me emotions similar to love at first sight. It would be quick and we would part ways with nothing more than the half second between us.

As I imagined this, my mind also thought of how I would feel if I replaced that woman with a man. Still not sure, but I had this thought because I know of a young man whose smile does indeed express a genuine kindness. I would freely admit he is an attractive man who could easily replace the woman in this scenario.

And so really, a smile, kind and pure given from whom ever it is can be powerful and beautiful. It is our perspective which must meet that beauty and allow ourselves to experience it. Beauty being defined by our own standards, can be easily overlooked. Perhaps I need to remember to look wider for beauty and appreciate all that is readily available to me.

Leave a Reply

