QOTD: Beauty

“Beauty as we feel it is something indescribable; what it is or what it means can never be said.”

– George Santayana

Watching the sunrise through the trees. The cold air found in the shadows of the trees intermixed with bursts of warmth, as the sun peaks around the branches. Glare, almost blinding you every few seconds. Silence. Every breath growing deeper and slower.

This is what I imagine when I read this quote. As my ability to write is about average, that is the closest I can get to describing my thoughts.

When I think about beauty, I also return to that scene. It was something I experienced most days when walking to work in Oregon. A moment that I wished could have been shared with someone. Of course, they may have not felt the same level of peace that I did, it would have been a shared memory, an opportunity for me to make a connection.

It was not a scene I felt comfortable capturing in a photo. It seemed selfish and wrong to try and replicate it. The memory alone is so vivid, it would seem useless to have done so. It is the memory that makes it so special.

I enjoy memories like this one and the way I can be transported back to that moment. It is one of my favorite memories and one I visit often.

 

Leave a Reply

