QOTD: Instinct

May 25, 2017

“There will be a few times in your life when all your instincts will tell you to do something, something that defies logic, upsets your plans, and may seem crazy to others. When that happens, you do it. Listen to your instincts and ignore everything else. Ignore logic, ignore the odds, ignore the complications, and just go for it.”

– Judith McNaught

If I could do anything different in my life, it would be to follow my instincts more. There was a short period of time when I did and it was the most chaotic and most fulfilling time of my life.

It was right when I started learning about the Mormon church and was told I needed to learn how to follow the Spirit. They told me I would know how the Spirit spook to me and that it would be more of a feeling and not so much an actual voice.

So, for whatever reason, I took this challenge very seriously and anytime I felt that gut feeling of you need to do this, as long as it was a good thing, I did it.

The most interesting story that came from this occurred a little after my baptism. I was out work and potentially going to be out of a home soon (my parents had left to LA and I was in Oregon staying in the house they were selling.)

One morning, I woke up and having no job prospects, I laid there thinking and worrying. I decided to reach for an old bible I had on a shelf and thumbed through it. On one page there was a verse about not being idle and how we need to work hard and keep active. That’s when I felt the need to go out and work in the yard for a bit and just get myself moving.

About five minutes in, this feeling ,of, “you’re done” came over me and as confusing as it was, I headed inside and caught the tail end of a message from my future employer.

Now, its easy to toss this up to coincidence, but its hard to keep saying that. I personally do believe that my instincts helped me to learn in that instance, the way God blesses people through obedience. Would I still have gotten the job if I had just stayed in bed or turned on the TV instead? Who knows? What I know, is my perception of the situation.

I trusted my gut and it taught me something. Instinct is something we can all believe in and interpret how we need to. My instinct has helped me make choices that brought religion into my life, and so now is linked very closely to my spiritual understanding of things. But I can also say that my body can also tell me a lot of things just because that is how it works.

I want to be able to trust myself and part of that is learning to trust my body to tell me things that I can’t see. My body can help me understand dangerous situations before they happen, it can also help me understand what really drives me in life and what excites me. My body can help my mind have the courage to act, but only if I give into it and trust it. Mind and body are meant to work together and it is so important to learn how to do that.

Surviving anything requires trusting yourself, both in your thoughts and in your feelings.


Shirts available for purchase here: https://survivinganything.threadless.com/

Check out my Instagram to see what picture I posted today: @jorgesiow – https://www.instagram.com/jorgesiow/

Check out my Pattern site to see the things I sell: www.thehusbandandwifeco.com

Or my Etsy shop: www.etsy.com/shop/thehusbandandwifeco

Also I have Facebook: @undefeatedandalive – https://www.facebook.com/undefeateandalive/

Leave a Reply

