QOTD: I Hate Planning

May 23, 2017

“You can’t plow a field simply by turning it over in your mind.”

– Gordon B. Hinckley

Goals, goals, goals, I really dislike setting goals. It has to do with my dislike of planning.

I don’t have a reason why I dislike planning, I just don’t like it. I’m sitting here laughing because it just seems so ridiculous.

I do currently have a planner. I use it everyday, mostly to jot down ideas for my business, things I want to write about and quotes to share. I try to fill in my weekly appointments and schedule times to take care of just normal everyday things, like making dinner.

Getting my business up and running and sustaining it requires me to be really good about planning my days and making sure that I stay on track. So again, I laugh at how much disdain I have for planning.

However, with all that I do and the amount of time it takes to do it all, keeping a mental list of things doesn’t work. Inevitably I forget things and end up having to back track and it eats away at my day.

I always joke that it would be nice to have an extra 8 hours in my day to work just on my business. It would be amazing to have that much time set aside. That doesn’t typically happen though.

After I leave my day job, there are just things that need to be taken care of. When I have my son, I don’t plan to work until after he goes to bed. When I don’t have him, I still usually don’t start work until after 6 pm so I have time to relax and make dinner.

These habits are built around a mental plan that works, however, there is better efficiency when I write down this schedule. Over the past six months, I’ve made it a habit to, at the minimum, to write out my daily schedule at the beginning of the week.

Naturally, from this, when I get ideas, I stared writing them down in my planner. From that habit, it became normal to feel inspired to actually use those ideas and to want to set goals to achieve them. Life started to get a little easier and I felt better.

Planning is hard. Acting is harder. But when we do both and at the very least, attempt to accomplish our dreams, we find fulfillment. Happiness. Joy. Maybe even relief. Being someone who enjoys writing things down, nothing is more relieving then being able to just write out my feelings, thoughts and ideas, clearing my mind of all the junk that builds up.

I am better capable of being honest with myself. That alone breaks so much of the pressure that I feel in life and helps to center me back into reality. Feeling overwhelmed is a daily occurrence for me. I feel stuck a lot of the time, worried that I am chasing the wrong things or will never see “success.” Those are all normal emotions for me and I’ve learned to work through it all. Being able to feel like I have a plan for my day helps make it easier.

I think we all have to find a way to make our lives feel less like a never ending cycle of suck and more pleasant. It takes time and effort, and lots of planning. But planning will get you no where if you don’t actually do.

So set the goal to start somewhere and write down your ideas. Get it out of your head and closer to reality. Baby steps y’all.

Surviving anything is about believing in your own ability to succeed.


Shirts available for purchase here: https://survivinganything.threadless.com/

Check out my Instagram to see what picture I posted today: @jorgesiow – https://www.instagram.com/jorgesiow/

Check out my Pattern site to see the things I sell: www.thehusbandandwifeco.com

Or my Etsy shop: www.etsy.com/shop/thehusbandandwifeco

Also I have Facebook: @undefeatedandalive – https://www.facebook.com/undefeateandalive/

Leave a Reply

