QOTD: Fear or Change

May 11, 2017

“There are two types of people who will tell you that you cannot make a difference in the world: those who are afraid to try and those who are afraid you will succeed.”

– Ray Goforth

Before I ever used a camera for the purpose of creating art, I dreamed of being a photography. What inspired this in me, was a glamorized portrayal of artists that had somehow developed in my mind.

High school was the first time a photography class was available to me. Immediately, I fell in love with the idea of being able to communicate my emotions through the images I produced. Unfortunately, like most other artistic endeavors, my work wasn’t exactly the easiest to share with others.

Almost immediately I began to lose interest because though I was able to create and connect with what I was producing, I couldn’t translate that into connecting with others.  At least not those who I was reaching out to.

It was also around this time that the idea of trying to support a family as a photographer was but into my mind. Or rather the idea that it was impossible.

I then became the person who told me I couldn’t succeed because I was afraid to try and because I was afraid I could succeed.

Being raised to believe you can do anything can lead to a confused way of thinking when you start to encounter people who “failed.” There stories of doing everything right and still not making and having to join the “working masses” can really destroy your faith. But I don’t think anything can really put out the fire of faith in yourself once it’s been lit.

I found myself stuck and still do at times between making a choice that FEELS right and hearing the collective voices of “the world” in my head saying, “It’s not possible.”

So today, I am going to give in to the part of me that knows I can succeed. Not because I am doing everything the way they say I should, but because doing things my way feels better then doing things their way.

I trust myself. And if I trust myself, then I can survive anything.


Shirts available for purchase here: https://survivinganything.threadless.com/

Check out my Instagram to see what picture I posted today: @jorgesiow – https://www.instagram.com/jorgesiow/

Check out my Pattern site to see the things I sell: www.thehusbandandwifeco.com

Or my Etsy shop: www.etsy.com/shop/thehusbandandwifeco

Also I have Facebook: www.facebook.com/husandwifeco

Leave a Reply

