QOTD: Don’t Settle

This is my life and I am in control.

“The only way to do great work is to love what you do. If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking. Don’t settle.”

-Steve Jobs

I run an Etsy shop because it forces me to be creative.

Lately, I have started to pickup photography again and in the interest of progressing as an individual, took my resources and started selling my photos in my shop.

It has been terrifying to be so open with my artwork and has taken a lot of prep work. I started by deciding to quit using the excuse of not having a camera to keep me from achieving my dreams. Fact is I am not capable of saving money for a camera right now, but that shouldn’t  stop me from doing what I love.

I upgraded my phone to an iPhone 7 and picked up a cheap lens kit on Amazon. I took some photos, added a watermark and then posted them on Instagram. Boom. Pop. I was taking off.

After some consistent success with this, and by success I mean I actually kept doing it, I bit the bullet and moved resources into understanding how to actually pull this off and then did it.

I made my dream come true. And it took nothing more then me just doing it.

Not all dreams are like this and for most photographers this isn’t a great way to do things. But it was a way that I felt worked for me and so I did it my way. I am at a point where I am ok with this  not working and learning how to make it work, I just am tired of sitting on the sidelines waiting for the planets to line up and the winds to be just perfect.

This is my life and I am in control. I will survive anything that comes my way because unless it’s death or severe mutilation, it’s only temporary.

Survive. Don’t Settle.

Leave a Reply

