QOTD: Success

April 3, 2017

 “Success is liking yourself, liking what you do, and liking how you do it.”

-Maya Angelou

I spent the weekend enjoying time with my son. That means this QOTD is late.

But, I planned ahead last week and so it was easy enough to sit down with my notebook and go through all the quotes I’ve been saving. And just like that, I feel successful today.

The approach of not putting pressure on myself to be perfect with this blog, has not only helped me enjoy this, but has kept me motivated to keep working on it. This weekend, I thought a lot about getting things ready for this week and getting my posts scheduled and finding content to write about. Saturday night, I was a little stressed about putting it off because I knew I didn’t want to “work” on Sunday.

Then I remembered that it wasn’t that big of a deal. I’m doing this for fun and trying to make this perfect right now, isn’t going to do me any good. Working to not burn myself out on any of my projects has really opened my eyes up to how planning works for me.

Last week, I was stressing about a couple of things in my personal life and spent most nights lying awake and when I did sleep, I had constant nightmares. I really just needed a break and was trying to get sleep when I could. Things just didn’t get done when I had planned for them, but something I had done the week prior, was plan ahead. Then during the week, when I did have ideas or came across ideas or quotes to write about, I wrote them down so I wouldn’t forget.

And because, I am doing all this for my own enjoyment, it didn’t matter that I was late today, or that I didn’t spend Saturday night and Sunday prepping for the week. I needed a break and I took it. I had worked hard when I could and when I needed to not do so much, it was ok. That works for me. I’ve known a lot of people who think if you aren’t working hard all the time you aren’t being successful. But what good is it to work yourself to death? Or to work until you hate what you are doing?

I do believe we are meant to enjoy life and finding a path that works for us and our lifestyles is important. You will have to make adjustments along the way, like if I want to ever start a new family, I will have to get a better job. Right now, to provide for myself and my son, what I do is working, and I can plan a future with my current job that will in the long term be good. It’s when things change that we have to be willing to reevaluate our situation.

Currently, I do like myself, I work when I need to and focus on the task at hand, and then I relax when possible. Before, it was just putting off things, now it’s just taking care of myself and being ok with it.

Leave a Reply

