The Dark: An Encounter

img_1227

I still sleep with the hall light on because I’m afraid of the dark. Sleeping alone has always scared me.

When my son is with me, it is easy to shut the bedroom door with the assurance that just behind it the light is there. If alone, however, the door stays open.

My fear of the dark has always been present in my life. It isn’t just a normal fear of the dark you gain as a child. My darkness is filled with things that I know to be real.

The earliest I can recall seeing something occur was  when I was around 6 or 7. I was leaving the bathroom after a bath, my parents were downstairs and my room was just a quick walk across the hall.

The light was off in my room. The entrance was illuminated by the hall light. It was just a normal night and I was in need of some clothes. As I approached my room, I saw something run across the floor and underneath my bed. It was a dark figure, with the body structure of a human but the head and tail of a cat.

My immediate reaction was to scream for help. My parents came and I am sure they did what any parent would do and then sent me on my way to bed.

The memory is still very vivid. This “thing” wasn’t a shadow, in fact it was visibly darker then my room and it hadn’t come into the portion of the room where light was shining on the floor. I also felt it. At times I wanted to say I heard it, but the motion of it running across the floor wasn’t a noise as much as it was a feeling. It penetrated my chest and I could feel my heart pounding.

A lot of people I share this story with say it is just the work of an active imagination. For a time I wanted to believe this. It would be easy if this was the only time something like this happened, or even if it was just when I was a kid. But as an adult, things like this have only gotten stronger. Typically sharing my stories triggers a resurgence of these type of events. Sometimes I think it’s because I’ve opened myself up to accepting their reality by sharing the experience.

But I’d like to start sharing them and just really getting the fear of them off my chest. This was my first memory of this happening and I will share some more in future posts.

Let me know if you have any similar stories, I know this one is pretty tame, but I’d like to hear what other people have experienced that drives their fears.

Leave a Reply

